Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD)

Owing to scientific and economic changes in a number of developing nations, OWSD has intensified the focus of its programme and has selected a group of countries in which science and technology are significantly lagging.

The immediate effect of this selection is that, effective from 2017, OWSD PhD Fellowships are open to candidates from 66 scientifically and technologically lagging countries.

Formerly, OWSD had a list of eligible countries which included all Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and any additional countries in sub-Saharan Africa. With this new selection, some countries in Africa are no longer considered low income and are no longer eligible for fellowships support. Some new countries outside Africa have been added.

66 SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY LAGGING COUNTRIES in alphabetical order

Afghanistan Haiti South Sudan Angola Honduras Sri Lanka Bangladesh Kenya Sudan Benin Kiribati Swaziland

Bhutan Lao People's Dem Rep. Syrian Arab Republic

Bolivia Lesotho Tajikistan Burkina Faso Liberia Tanzania Burundi Timor-Leste Madagascar

Cambodia Malawi Togo Mali Tuvalu Cameroon Central African Rep. Mauritania Uganda Chad Mongolia Vanuatu

Comoros Mozambique Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe Congo Myanmar Côte d'Ivoire Nepal Dem Rep. Congo

Nicaragua

Niger

El Salvador Palestine (West Bank and

Gaza Strip) Eritrea Paraguay Ethiopia Rwanda **Equatorial Guinea**

Djibouti

Sao Tome and Principe Gambia

Senegal Ghana Sierra Leone Guatemala Solomon Islands Guinea

Somalia Guinea-Bissau