Nominations open from April 18 to June 17 to the prize l´oreal Chile - UNESCO For Women in Science 2016

Nominations open from April 18 to June 17 to the prize l´oreal Chile - UNESCO For Women in Science 2016

From April 18 to June 17:

All the Chilean students of PhD in life sciences or the matter may apply for two awards of $7 million each, intended to support their doctoral theses.

Santiago, April 2016.- Applications of one of the most prominent awards of science worldwide, L' Oréal Chile together with UNESCO granted in our country will be open from April 18 to June 17. It is of For Women in Science, for the ninth year, will award to two scientists of excellence who pursue doctoral studies in life sciences or matter, delivering two prizes, each in an amount of $7 million, to support the doctoral theses of women researchers.

The award L' Oréal Chile - UNESCO "For Women in Science"-which this year celebrates its ninth anniversary in Chile and number 18 in the world - is the result of a single between a public entity and a private association and has managed to consolidate its position as one of the most important initiatives to promote the career of women scientists from all continents.

In Chile, since 2007 it has the sponsorship of the National Commission of Investigación Científica y Tecnológica, CONYCIT; with a team of first level assessment and a jury with the most recognized figures in the academic world. As President of the jury, Gloria Montenegro, winner of the Prix International L' Oréal UNESCO FWIS 1998; Juan Asenjo, President of the Academy of Sciences; the President of Conicyt; Rosa Devés, in representation of Commission UNESCO and Liliana Cardemil, Director of the laboratory of Molecular Biology and plant physiology in the Department of biology of the University of Chile.

Concerning this initiative, Loreal launched last week in the international ceremony For Women in Science a manifesto that seeks support to women scientists. This document, signed by the Director General of L' Oréal and Chairman of the Foundation Jean-Paul Agon, Director-General of UNESCO, Irina Bokova, and the President of the jury of awards, Elizabeth Blackburn, aims to draw attention to the need to ensure the gender equality in science.

The six commitments of the manifesto for women and science are:

  • Raise the scientific vocation in girls,
  • Breaking down the barriers that prevent women in science to continue a career in the long run,
  • Share with the public the contribution of women scientists to the progress of science and society,
  • Ensure parity in scientific bodies (conferences, committees and boards of Directors) in terms of participation and leadership, and
  • Promote the formation and access to networks for the young women scientists to enable them to plan and develop their careers at the height of their own objectives.

The program L' Oréal UNESCO For Women in Science has awarded for 18 years to over 1700 women scientists from 108 countries and in our country, as 19 are young women who have received it from different areas of science; as physics, chemistry, biology, nursing, geology, forestry, biotechnology and ecology, among others.

The winners of the 2015 version were Yennifer Ávalos and Paulina Urriola, of the Catholic University of Chile.

Yennifer Avalos

Paulina Urriola

Both notable for their research studies, and received the commemoration by its qualities and excellence in the world of science in Chile. Yenniffer has based his research on the study of cancer, specifically in tumour cells.

More information and inquiries:

Databases and documents to apply at: / and