Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Abstract deadline extended to May 31, 2017. Please circulate to your friends and colleagues.

The International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) and the Federation of  European Biochemical Societies (FEBS) seek to provide a think-tank setting in which to draw up ideas to improve the current approach to teaching these subjects, and to generate a series of recommendations to be shared with the educational community.

The New Horizons in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education Conference, hosted by the Weizmann Institute of Science, will take place 6-8 September 2017 in Rehovot, before the FEBS 2017 Congress organized by the Israel Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ISBMB) in Jerusalem, 10-14 September 2017.

The programme of the IUBMB-FEBS Conference on Education consists of plenary lectures, mini-symposia, workshops, and poster sessions, covering significant  topics on biochemistry and molecular biology education, from the level of primary and secondary school, going through BSc, MSc, PhD and post doctoral levels.

The targeted participants of this Education gathering are faculty members, young scientists, researchers, Post-docs, PhD students, high school teachers, and delegates from various academic institutions all over the world, involved and interested in teaching and learning of biochemistry and molecular biology education. Poster prizes will be given to the best three posters. We also offer bursaries for young scientists and PhD students involved in education and interested in presenting a poster during this conference.

Offering an excellent programme with experts from all over the world, with the support of IUBMB and FEBS leaders and Education Committees, hosted by the Weizmann Institute of Science, we look forward to the participation of colleagues and students from all over the world thus having the opportunity of contributing to “the way we teach and what we teach”.

Hoping very much to meeting you in Rehovot in September 2017,

Anat Yarden (Weizmann Institute of Sciences), Janet Macaulay (IUBMB)

and Gül Güner Akdogan (FEBS)

Conference Co-Chairs